top of page

Hiatal Defects

Classification system (BBUGSS classification)

The defect is measured intra-operatively at the widest transverse point of the hiatus after oesophageal mobilisation










Type A (Small Hiatal Defect)        < 3 cm

Type B (Medium Hiatal Defect)  3 - 6 cm

Type C (Large Hiatal Defect)        > 6 - 9 cm

Type D (Giant Hiatal Defect)        > 9 cm

No substantial evidence base about mesh use during hiatal repair, therefore no recommendation can be made by BBUGSS

bottom of page